Rise Biscuits and Donuts

Yesterday I had breakfast with my mom at Rise Biscuits and Donuts in Durham, NC. I heard this place had really good biscuits so I thought I’d give it a try. Love for food runs in the family so my mom was happy to try the place out as well.

Walking in, the small store actually had a really cool vibe to it. The layout is similar to any other bakery, clerks at the front and a window display of some beautiful donuts. I should have taken a picture of them but I also didn’t anticipate blogging about the place. There was a small bar type seating area to the side along with a beverage station that had a really cool bookshelf next to it complete with what looked like vintage cookbooks.

The menu at Rise is pretty simple, the name says it all; biscuits and donuts are their specialty. I decided to go with a bacon and egg biscuit while my mom went with a plain biscuit.

20140424-100059.jpg

Alright I know I don’t have the best photography skills and I have to say, my picture really does the biscuit no justice. My bacon and egg biscuit was one of the best biscuits I have ever had. The bacon was great. As a bacon connoisseur, I love bacon that isn’t crispy like a cracker but also isn’t too soft either. This bacon had a perfect balance between salty and sweet and had was really cooked perfectly. The egg was also great and matched well with the bacon.

The biscuit itself was also amazing. I am not a fan of doughy biscuits. You know the kind that seem to not be cooked enough and are really mushy in the center so you end up with swallowing a huge ball of buttery dough..well the biscuits at Rise are far from that. They’re nice and fluffy and not so oily that your hands end up with a layer of grease on them. Our biscuits were baked perfectly, a light crust on the outside that was a nice contrast to the soft inside. I really have no complaints about the biscuits at Rise.

If you’re ever in the Raleigh/Durham area, make sure you check out Rise! I know I’ll be going back sometime to check out their donuts and have some more of their amazing biscuits. Also be sure to follow them on Twitter!

Have a great day guys!

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Harvest 18 Restaurant | Everything Food!

Leave a Reply

